miércoles, 4 de marzo de 2026

2026 Chicago Bear current state

   The Chicago Bears will go into the 2026 NFL season with a solid foundation on offense and a lot of work to do on defense, which is not what one would normally think when talking about the Bears as a franchise. This is a step in the right direction, at last the team looks to have hit the HC and QB combination correctly, but one more year like last year will clear every doubt, there is still a chance this ends up like the 2018 Bears but it really does not feel like it will go that way. 

So, what does Ryan Poles have to work with this offseason?


QB

Starters: Caleb Williams

Backups: Tyson Bagent

Free Agents: Case Keenum

   Williams is not a finished product and that is thrilling, if he is able improves his all around accuracy just a bit, he can easily be considered a top 10 QB in the league, that would be unheard of when talking about a Bears QB. Another fascinating bit of news coming out is the interest of other teams wanting to trade for Tyson Bagent, this speaks volumes of what Ben Johnson has done to this offense. I would consider accepting the 2nd round pick that rumors say Bagent would cost, even if its risky not having an established backup, the pick would do wonders to balance the roster quicker. The risk falls completely in the health of Williams and injury is always a possibility. Honestly i would take the risk for a high pick, Bagent might win a game or two if Williams is lost for several games and keep the playoff hopes alive, but other than that I don't see Bagent winning playoff games or winning enough if he plays more than 3 games. I base this on nothing but gut feeling knowing that good QBs dont grow on trees.


RB

Starters: D'Andre Swift, Kyle Monangai

Backups: Roschon Johnson, Deion Hankins, Brittain Brown

Free Agents: Travis Homer

   I really wasn't a Swift believer, but even I have to acknowledge he did a really good job. Monangai exceeded my expectations but not by a lot, I knew he could be a very good change of pace runner but when things got tough and the offense needed an answer, he gave it to them on numerous occasions and that is something I didn't expect from him as a rookie, his ability to be a weapon in the short passing game was a very pleasant surprise. Even with these positive results by the duo, I still would like for Poles to try and get someone that can take the lead back position, I wont lose sleep if Swift and Monangai come back as the lead duo but I will worry just a tad due to the lack of experience on the bench, I don't know if Johnson will ever see a carry again, while Hankins and Brown are still question marks. The need is not dyer to warrant using a pick at the draft depending how FA goes, might be wiser to see what the UDFA pool looks like, but in FA there are players that could help better the rotation like Tyler Allgeier, Michael Carter or Kenneth Gainwell, a splash can be made by going for Kenneth Walker III but I don't see that happening, there's more dyer need in other areas and not much to go around to be placing it at RB.


WR

Starters: Rome Odunze, Luther Burden III, D.J. Moore

Backups: Jahdae Walker, Maurice Alexander, J.P. Richardson, Qadir Ismail

Free Agents: Olamide Zaccheaus, Devin Duvernay

   The Wideout group is solid, there is still hope that Odunze can get better and be the player expected when picked #9 overall but as of right now he is a good player. Burden III will be expected to make a jump his second year and already has demonstrated top talent. As a backup I expect big things from Walker, he has been reliable when needed. There have been talks about trading Moore, and just like Bagent, I wouldn't mind hearing offers. The offense can survive without Moore bearing any serious injurie, Caleb Williams and Ben Johnson have shown they can thrive even when not having their full arsenal of weapons at their disposal. Very grateful for the services of Duvernay as a returner but that area needs to get better, it might be with Alexander taking the spot or bringing someone else. Also, there is a need for a slot receiver with Zaccheaus gone I wouldn't consider bringing him back, might be good to use a late draft pick to help fill the need. FAs that catch my eye are Greg Dortch or Jahan Dotson. Others for depth are Juaun Jennings, Jake Bobo and Jalen Coker.

Update: D.J. Moore got traded. Unfortunately it was a big possibility it would happen, Moore is still a good player but got pushed by good and young talent already on the roster. Welp, what we get then? What's that? Poles swapped a 5th rounder for a 2nd? AND got them to take ALL of Moore's contract? That is one big move. If Poles gets ANYTHING for Edmunds and some moves on draft day, this puts the Bears in a great spot to fix the defense and Oline for this season.


TE

Starters: Colston Loveland, Cole Kmet

Backups: Stephen Carlson, Nicola Kalinic

Free Agents: Durham Smythe

   Did the Bears get the right TE or what? Great to have Loveland as Williams security blanket AND as a run blocker while still having Kmet to go double set TE formations and be able to pass or run the ball effectively. There is minimal moves to be made here, they can go and bring some new blood to see if they hit the lottery with a UDFA. In FA, it would be fun if they brought in Chig Okonkwo or David Njoku.


OT

Starters: Darnell Wright, Ozzy Trapilo

Backups: Kiran Amegadjie, Theo Benedet

Free Agents: Braxton Jones

   Losing Trapilo sucks so much, the Oline would be solid if it weren't for his injury, now Poles and Johnson will have to really think about what to do here when the focus should have been all in on defense. Bringing back Benedet is a band aid, Amegadjie is a huge question mark, considering re-signing Jones is a coinflip that would only minimize the salary cap without giving solution to the problem. This really sucks. I honestly don't know what to choose to do here, they would either have to spending big money in FA or draft with a high pick, it would be wonderful if Poles and Johnson felt confident to fix this with a 3rd or 4th rounder but its a toss with probably worse odds than playing Benedet. So should they pay big for Rasheed Walker? Wait and see if Trent Williams is available? Make a trade? This is just tough to decide.


OG

Starters: Joe Thuney, Jonah Jackson

Backups: Luke Newman, Kyle Hergel

Free Agents: Jordan McFadden

   Nothing much to say about this group aside that it looks solid with Thuney and Jackson returning and having Newman as backup. I would really consider bringing back McFadden by just how he looked against the Rams in the playoffs, that easily made him make more money here or elsewhere, preferably here.


OC

Starters: Drew Dalman

Backups: None

Free Agents: Ryan Bates, Ricky Stromberg, Trey Hill

   Dalman did a great job holding the center spot, having Newman as possible depth at the position is good to have. If Newman can show some dominance in the preseason this year, it would make me very happy. If that is the case, a late draft pick or UDFA for depth would be good, even if they decide to bring back either Bates or Stromberg.

Update: Drew Dalman retired... *sigh*. Again, from having a solid OLine to having to fill two holes now. This problem looks to have a faster and easier solution than Tackle. Tyler Biadasz is in for a visit, they can throw Dalman's money and some more to Tyler Linderbaum or draft maybe another Tyler in the 3rd or 4th round. I would prefer they bring in Biadasz, if healthy, and keep evaluating Luke Newman to see is he is center material. Really need to place the majority of the assets to the defensive side.


DT

Starters: Gervon Dexter Jr., Grady Jarrett

Backups: None

Free Agents: Andrew Billings, Chris Williams

   Honestly I don't know what the problem was with the Dline, but the lack of pressure was so frustrating, it didn't help that even the run game was a big problem at times. It might just be that the personnel doesn't match the coach. This is a big problem but fortunately its fixable with the results the offensive side of the ball had last year, the funds can go directly to finding the right players for the coach. Jarret is a good veteran to have but age has caught up to him and he cant generate pressure by himself. Dexter seems to not fit a role here, he has been named in trade talks, there are other pieces to move around to fill his spot if he is gone and this years draft has very promising talent, so its not out of the question to hear what other teams offer for him. If the price is right, I wouldn't mind bringing back Billings and Williams for depth, I wouldn't want Billings to be the starting option, he needs to come out of the bench fresh to make the impactful plays that he is still capable of executing.


DE

Starters: Montez Sweat, Austin Booker

Backups: Dayo Odeyingbo, Shemar Turner, Jamree Kromah, Jonathan Garvin, Jeremiah Martin

Free Agents: Joe Tryon-Shoyinka, Daniel Hardy, Dominique Robinson

   There are a lot of bodies in this group but not enough answers. Sweat has been serviceable but not to warrant the money invested in him, its still a wait and see if his play grows with better talent at the other DE spot. Booker is a good depth player but he isn't a starter caliber player yet and its no sure thing he will be. Odeyingbo is still a wait and see project in this team due to getting injured too early in the year, same thing with Turner who was converted to DE (thank the football gods), but got injured too early in the process to know if it would work, but I hope Allen sticks to it and lets him play as a DE once he returns. The Bears could easily go all in on a big name in free agency, if it weren't for the injury to Trapilo that leaves a big hole at LT (and now Dalmans retirement), so this makes me think twice at throwing all the money to Trey Hendrickson or trading for Maxx Crosby. Now what I would expect them to do is go through the options of serviceable and not very expensive veterans like Cameron Jordan, Khalil Mack or Joey Bosa, maybe younger players like E.J. Epenesa, Kwitiy Paye or even Jaelan Phillips, while drafting  a player with a high pick.


LB

Starters: T.J. Edwards, Tremaine Edmunds

Backups: Noah Sewell, Ruben Hyppolite II, Hephi Sewell

Free Agents: D'Marco Jackson, Ty Summers, Amen Ogbongbemiga

   Linebacker is becoming a problem, it might be because of the lack of help provided by the Dline that makes the LBs and Safety's need to clean their mess up, and honestly they did most of the time which opened holes in the secondary as a result. So, the outcome of Edmunds being a cap casualty is no surprise, it might not be his fault completely, but the money is needed elsewhere. Edwards will be a question mark returning from injury, also he is getting old. Behind them, the Sewell brothers might be serviceable in run support and special teams but not as true high caliber starters. Hyppolite II hasn't played enough to be a factor. They need to bring back Jackson, this group is too thin to leave it without players that got a chance to play and played well as a result. Heck, Demario Davis wants to come over? be my guest. Draft capital will have to be spent here, probably better to be in the middle rounds depending how free agency fairs.


CB

Starters: Jaylon Johnson, Kyler Gordon, Tariq Stevenson 

Backups: Terrell Smith, Josh Blackwell, Zah Frazier, Dontae Manning, Dallis Flowers

Free Agents: Nashon Wright, Jaylon Jones, Nick McCloud

   For the last two years, the defense showed poor performance when one of Johnson or Gordon where out, although Gordon's absence made it more palpable. I wouldn't bring back Wright, his style of play is very risk-reward, very similar to how the Cowboys played their corners in Travon Diggs and Daron Bland. I still find Stevenson to be very serviceable when his head is in the game. Unfortunately, it has not been possible to evaluate the growth of Smith and Frazier due to lack of playing time, so it makes not bringing Wright back risky. I wouldn't want to use draft capital in this group this year and would prefer to see what the FA market value is at with guys like Cordale Flott, Alontae Taylor, Josh Jobe, Martin Emerson or Ja'Quan McMillan. Also, there's Asante Samuel Jr. and Kader Kohou depending on injury status.


S

Starters: None

Backups: Gervarius Owens, Dominique Hampton

Free Agents: Kevin Byard, Jaquan Brisker, C.J. Gardner-Johnson Jr., Jonathan Owens, Elijah Hicks 

   Safety is a big need, no way in denying it. Byrd and Brisker played very well this year and could be considered of bringing them back due to knowledge of the defense, but Byrd's age and Brisker's injury history and cost make it not ideal. On the other hand, I would definitely bring back Gardner-Johnson Jr. who is younger and has deep knowledge of what coach Allen wants, he is not a Kyler Gordon type of player at NB but is very helpful as a SS type. There's options on drafting one at the middle rounds along with LB while also picking up a player at the FA pool like Kamren Curl, Coby Bryant or Alohi Gilman.


ST

K: Cairo Santos

P: Tory Taylor

LS: Luke Elkin

   Santos has been looking better accuracy wise, and with the new use of a kicking ball that is making everyone add like 10 yrd of distance to their kicks, Santos is now considered to be a 50+ yard accurate kicker now, so there is that. Taylor's 4th round value is not living up to expectations, he isn't the worst punter and still has a chance to get better, he has shown flashes, but not at a consistent basis. I really don't remember who the LS was this season.


   Poles has a lot of work to do to upgrade the defense, which right now is in shambles if not for the corner group. I am still waiting for the day that the Bears will have enough talent on their roster to be granted compensatory picks, but its still not that day, Poles will most probably need to spend more than he will lose to free agency. Last year between draft and FA, the offensive players gathered made everything click in the right direction, while the moves made on defense did not work or got stalled. With some luck, some returning pieces brought las year will make a difference and the new players to come this season will result in an improved defense just like what happened to the offense last year, that would result in a scary team, a fun team, that will probably will go against some tougher opponents this upcoming season.

martes, 3 de marzo de 2026

2025-26 Chicago Bears: Thank you

   One of the first things I wrote in this blog, is why I liked football so much, why its my favorite sport and why a fan should be careful being one. A fan of sports should be cautious of not falling to a pit of negativity, it should not make you ill or make others feel bad. There are ups and mostly downs but you wait and hope for the ups, you rejoice the ups when they come for that is the point of it. If you cant take the downs, its time to let go, its not worth it.

   After the Bears lost to the Vikings in week 1, I really was ready to give up on this team and football entirely, excessive I know, but honestly I felt that one badly. In that moment at the end of the game, I was so tired and frustrated of re-living the same result over and over on so many games, I really felt no change, same result, no fun, so why keep it up?

   I couldn't do it, I got stubborn. The next week I was there in front of the TV just waiting for the same thing to happen again and it did, a blowout against the Lions. It was against a tough team, it was expected, but it was a bad loss, a crushing one. I expected growing pains but this was sad, I was probably a masochist at this point, who watches something expecting pain? Expecting disappointment. A fan watches expecting their team to turn the corner, even if they lose, see something that makes them believe. I saw nothing at this point. The game I enjoyed watching, my hobby, my favorite activity, gave me nothing. I couldn't write, I had nothing to say.

   I still couldn't give it up. I wasn't taking my own advise but because I still wasn't ready to believe it was over, I didn't think of it at the time, but now I really think that if the Bears would have gone 0-4 it would very probably have been my braking point. But fortunately I didn't get the chance to find out. The Bears beat the Cowboys the following week and convincingly. The narrative of getting beat by your ex-coach didn't happen, it didn't mean much at the time but it meant enough to keep watching, it wasn't going to take much to keep me going.

   Next week, against a bad Raiders team who took the Bears to the last minutes, it was the Vikings game all over again, it was every other close game against a beatable team all over again. But it didn't happen, luck went the Bears way. What? Really? Wow, cool! I got to live the other side of the coin not long ago, so this is how it feels to win that way, eh? Pure luck, I'll take it, not gonna get much of those right? right?

   Next week against the Commander, was where things happened that make you believe in ghosts, aliens and destiny, you know, things that you cant explain or have proof of. This game, man. A year ago, the Bears lost to this team on a las minute hail Mary pass that got deflected by a defender, popped up in the air and fell gently into the arms of a receiver in the end zone. This is a type of event that makes people break things. Because it just shouldn't happen. That fumble shouldn't have happened, the Bears shouldn't have won that game, but they did just like the Commanders shouldn't have won that game a year ago. And just like that game the Commanders won, probably made them believe they were invincible, destined to go far. This one probably made the Bears believers. 

   I, on the other hand, was starting to heal. I didn't start thinking how many games they were going to win, I was just happy that they were winning. And for every game they won after this, I was happy to see improvement, started to see thing clicking offensively at least, the defense had their moments. Everything was good again.

   Then they beat the Steelers, I wasn't that surprised by then that they did. But then, they beat the Eagles, that I did not expect. Winning that game meant contention, meant the Bears where definitely a good team. 

   Then, they lost to the Packers, it helped that it was a close game, a game that came to the final second. But it was a loss against Green Bay, a good Packers team, it stung never the less, because it still felt that it was the same story again. The Bears cant beat the Packers. I expected it, as I expected the Bears to take the one at home as well. It was what I hoped. I started hoping again.

   Second game against the Packers at Chicago, the Bears where getting their asses handed to them. Same old story. Not again. Not again, please. It didn't happen, the unlikely happened, everything that shouldn't have happened, happened. 3rd and 20 reset by a facemask penalty, FG to make it a 7 point game, onside kick recovery, fourth and goal TD, first sack of the game to force OT, 4th down stop, end zone bomb and catch, touchdown, game, Bears win, they beat the Packers. They have beaten them before yes but not enough to call it even, not even close, not for a true rivalry. This needed to happen for the Bears fan base, this rivalry is part of the game, its more fun when it exists.

   Playoffs, something that was possible if everything went right, it didn't look at the beginning that it would go right but eventually it did. The Bears would play in January again. And against the Packers. Huh.

   Getting to see the Bears beat the Packers the way they did in week 16 was incredible. Getting to see it twice? Really, what are the odds? 

   This team should have beaten the Rams. This team shouldn't have reached the playoffs. Both can be easily debatable, its just a matter of events, of belief, of taking the opportunities and making the best of them.

   I don't believe they would have beaten Seattle, but we will never know. It doesn't matter, once they got to the playoffs and beat the Packers, yeah, that was my super bowl, I had seen enough, I was happy, I am happy that the team I root for is good and can get better. That I have hope they can get better.

   I didn't plan to write all of this, this one just came out this way. 

   So I finish this by thanking the Chicago Bears football team for this season, for making me feel joy again watching this team play. Really, I am thanking people for doing their job, for doing it for their well being, that they may not even consider doing it for who is watching but for profit. As unhealthy that it may be being a fan, go this road of ups and downs when its a choice and not a need. Even then.

   As a fan, as stupid as it may sound, thank you.